October 28, 2010

2010 Gluten Free Halloween Candy List

Make sure you and the kiddos are eating gluten free candy this year. Since manufacturers may change their ingredients from time to time, it's always best to read labels and do a little research.

The National Foundation of Celiac Awareness compiled an updated list of safe Halloween candy. Make sure you print yourself a copy and read it over before you dig in.

If you are avoiding other allergens, check out Sure Food Living's candy list.

A Few Tips for Gluten Avoiders

Avoid anything with malt or barley such as:
- Milky Way (Milky Way Dark Midnight and Milky Way Caramels are gluten free)
- Zero Candy Bars
- 100 Grand
- Whoppers
- Caramel Creme (Bulls-Eyes or Cowtails)

Avoid anything with cookie crisps such as:
- Kit Kat
- Butterfinger Crisps, Sticks, or Snackerz (Regular Butterfingers are gluten free)
- Twix
- Whatchamacallit
- Hershey's Cookies & Cream Bar

Avoid anything with pretzels such as:
- Take 5
- M&Ms with pretzel (new product in blue bags)
- Pretzel Flipz

Avoid the gummy candy with wheat flour such as:
- Twizzlers
- Good & Plenty
- Sour Punch Products (Sour Punch Straws, Bites, and Twists)
- Airheads Extremes (apparently the traditional Airheads are gluten free, must have changed the recipe since I started being gluten free, they used to contain wheat flour.)

Check non-candy items carefully such as:
- 100 Calorie packs (many contain gluten)
- Mini bags of chips (flavorings could contain gluten, but there are also mini Halloween pretzel bags or Goldfish Halloween bags to watch out for)

Hopefully they'll be some stickers, free bowling coupons, spider rings, and other non food fun items. Although I did see these at the store the other day...

Scary Baby Carrots...now that's a healthy Halloween Treat!

October 25, 2010

I'm back...with Bisquick!

My apologies for the lack of blog posts, during Celiac Awareness month, nonetheless! I've tried lots of new gluten free products this past month, one of them being the new Gluten Free Bisquick. I've heard all about this product, but hadn't yet given it a whirl. Luckily my friends at MyBlogSpark and General Mills offered me the opportunity to try out the product and host a giveaway.

Growing up, my mom made almost everything from scratch, although every once in a while we did have a box of Bisquick in the house. I only remember making pancakes from mix, but they were delicious.

When I received my sample of Gluten Free Bisquick, I was amazing at all of the meals you could whip up. First thing I made was pizza crust, and yum! I happened to be babysitting my niece and nephew that night and we made mini pizzas. Nathan made a plain cheese and I went for the works. Each pie turned out beautifully. Thick, flaky crust that browned up perfectly. I hate when my gluten free pizza crust is golden brown on the edges, but then mushy underneath and everything slides off and crumbles. Not with this crust.

The following week I made pancakes for breakfast using the skillet and pancake pen that came with the Bisquick set I was sent. Little silver dollar pancakes, light and fluffy. I followed the recipe from the back of the box, and they were tasty.

Now here's the best part. I have 2 Gluten Free Bisquick packages to give away courtesy of MyBlogSpark and General Mills!

To enter, visit the Gluten Free Bisquick site and tell me which recipe you'd like to make. You MUST include your email address with your response. (If you win, how else will I be able to contact you?)

Giveaway ends Sunday, October 31st! Trick-or-Treat!
Winner will be announce Monday, November 1st.

In the meantime, go download a printable coupon for $1 off Gluten Free Bisquick Baking Mix!